• Stellar Solar Reviews

    The aspect of our business that we take the most pride in here at Stellar is our awesome reputation.  Our work and customer service have earned us over 100 5-star reviews across different online review platforms.  Following are the different networks we are reviewed on, please check out these solar installer reviews for evidence that we are the best solar company in San Diego!

  • Recent Reviews

  • Stellar Solar is a very good company, they installed a solar system of 24 panels for me, very quickly and on time. All employees with whom we had to deal were very efficient, knowledgeable and nice. more especially Connor Smith and Scott Forster. I strongly recommend Stellar Solar.

    Yelp KM., 7/23/2018

  • Met with Dave Gersz at my home to learn about SunPower Panels. no pressure, just facts and how it would all progress should i move forward with Stellar Solar. of course after he left, i went down my own rabbit hole of internet research which only confirmed what he told me earlier in the day. Dave was there every step of the way, (before and after signing the contract) checking in and answering any questions i had. the install team: everyone was professional and friendly. it was obvious that aesthetics and the quality of the install were important to them...i particularly appreciated having the crew respect my home and have a sense of responsibility to get it right. we've been nonstop at this house since we moved in so i've been dealing with plenty of contractors, tradesmen etc, and these guys have been top notch...and quite frankly a breath of fresh air. once the panels were up, they scheduled the inspection and even though they told me it could be up to a week for SDGE to give us our Permission to Operate green light, i got mine the day after the inspection. everything was handled by them and i just had to field emails or phone calls to set up times i would be home, which was simple because i work from home. the onsite tech walked me through how to login/use the monitoring app and how to flip the breakers on once we received PTO. seamless, professional and simple. there's a lot of solar installers out there, which, if you're reading this review, you know. Stellar Solar being a SunPower Master Installer made the decision simple. i suppose it's a personal decision whether you want SunPower or Panasonic or LG or whatever panels. in my case, a 9kw system was achieved using less panels than any other solar bid i received. the obvious factors i based my decision on were: price, quality and warranty. efficiency was sort of important to me, but not a limiting factor. a 9kw system will produce the target numbers regardless if it's 26 panels or 30 that gets you there. quality and especially their warranty, easily brought SunPower to the top...which unfortunately also puts their price point into the 'premium' category. if you've come this far, my final suggestions is to really look into the specifics of the warranties on your bids: who will be answering the phone on the other end, and who will be responsible for fixing any issues you have with your system.

    Yelp Don H., 6/11/2018

  • When I started considering solar in 2017, I figured they'd all probably be too expensive. I gathered quotes from about 7 companies in San Diego and was surprised at the varying proposals, value propositions, and price points. However, even with a variety of big names in the mix only a couple stood out with a strong proposal and technically competent sales reps; of those, Stellar Solar came in with the best value and price on top of best equipment and reputable team. I bought a 4 kW (DC) system of SunPower black panels with microinverters, and a replacement of roof underlayment. I like to understand what I am buying, down to the materials and research behind the numbers, so I can determine the true value to my situation (roof condition and layout, payoff period, aesthetic, etc), rather than taking marketing at face value. While some companies are all about the lowest price and big numbered guarantees, the competitive prices and warranty should be table stakes and not the draw. As a homeowner, I want to know that there's sound engineering, reliable technology, and safe practices for those guarantees to stand on, because even if a defective panel, racking, or leaking mount is covered under warranty, I'd much rather it not happen in the first place. I can't be comfortable trusting a company sourcing the cheapest equipment of the day from around the world, knowing that even if something goes wrong I at least saved a few bucks. Keith Davey (keithd1@stellarsolar.net - 858.805.1126)and his team were able to answer all of my questions and educate me about their installations, real world experiences, and manufacturer support. Being a SunPower Master Dealer gives them access to manufacturer training, support, and prices in exchange for exclusively installing SunPower equipment, which are designed in California and are continually the benchmark of high quality. Since the same company makes the panels, inverters, racking, and monitoring, it's designed to work seamlessly and naturally eliminates manufacturer finger-pointing if something fails. Throughout the process, Keith and the Stellar Solar team got me all the documentation and information I needed to help me get approved by my HOA, and took care of permitting, utility paperwork, and inspection arrangements themselves. When it came to installation, the team was top notch. They were on time and professional, and after a quick consult on my preferred conduit routing, they got to work and finished roof underlayment replacement and full installation in about 3 days. After a few more days and inspection, authorizations went through and I was permitted to turn on the system, generate, and afterwards monitor production. All the visible electrical runs were minimal, paint matched, and left little visual impact. [Aside: My only disappointment, as a tech-savvy person, is the lack of features in SunPower's monitoring system - to no fault of Stellar Solar. The monitoring box is tiny, but has no data dsplays. Everything goes to SunPower servers to view online or in an app, which gives you current total kW generation and cumulative kWh bar charts - no individual-panel data, no custom reports, no subscriptions, and no other data visualizations. Performance-wise, this has zero effect, but it is tech-bummer and truly the only disappointing part of the whole experience - again no fault of Stellar Solar.] Overall, Stellar Solar should be on your short list, if not your easy pick for installing your solar panel system. My neighbor go his quoted and installed right after mine and is equally happy with his. The all black panels and hidden conduit/wiring look incredibly slick and keep up the aesthetic of the house, and besides the SunPower monitoring's lacking of features, I am very happy and am so far on track with my expected generation, enjoying the lower utility bills while using AC!

    Yelp Ryan Y., 6/9/2018

  • I selected Stellar Solar, for SunPower solar panels, because of great reviews, and now I understand why! The folks at Stellar Solar are professional, cost efficient, excellent customer care service, field service is great, and I'm an extremely satisfied client, that would highly recommend Stellar Solar to all wanting to save money, and generate energy! Another reason I selected solar panels, is for the benefit of tax credits. I met with Zac Dowell, and he thoroughly explained/educated me, with the entire process, from beginning to end. Quite frankly, I was undecided for a long time, with misconceptions of the costs, until I met with Zac, and learned the panels were totally affordable, and he didn't try to sell me more than what I needed. Since we live in California where the sun shines, and generates power; I find amazing, and wish I purchased solar panels sooner. The Stellar Solar installation, obtaining permits, and then turning the power switch on was exciting, and I'm so grateful to Stellar Solar for such a smooth process. Stellar Solar is a wonderful company, and you will not be disappointed.

    Yelp Dee W., 5/2/2018

  • After interviewing a number of vendors, I selected Stellar Solar to handle the solar installation for my home in Rancho Bernardo. In fact, once I'd met with Marc Cirelli from Stellar, I knew I was done with the interviews. He is knowledgeable, objective, helped me understand exactly what I would be getting into with the project, and was always just a quick phone call or email away if I had any questions. I'd recommend him to anyone thinking about solar. During the work the Stellar Solar team was always professional, never missing a deadline . . . in fact, the project started much more quickly than I'd expected. Every step of the way I was surprised when another milestone was already met, and we were that much closer to being finished. I couldn't be happier with the installation itself. All work was done cleanly, so the whole thing is as unobtrusive, yet efficient, as possible. Finally, communication throughout the project was outstanding, from initial contact through walking me through the monitoring software after everything else was done. I always felt well-prepared for the next milestone during the project, and that can be key to having confidence in the outcome. Stellar Solar comes with my highest recommendation; consider including them when you think about installing solar for yourself!

    Yelp Jeff K., 4/1/2018

  • I've had three installation experiences with Marc at Stellar Solar. A close coworker, my father in law, and my own home. Whenever someone I know talks about considering installing Solar, I let them know they might be my fourth! If you are reading Yelp reviews to consider a Solar installation company, you probably already understand that in Southern California with the existing tax rebates, net metering tiered pricing by the utility and constant sun, you should not only install solar on your home as soon as possible, but you should buy as many panels as your home can fit. There are lots of data points available online to assist with researching solar installation pricing. You should do your own, but I have compared Stellar against the region average and they are consistently very competitively priced. Stellar does a quality installation, as evidenced by the many positive Yelp reviews. They have a well coordinated process, with a project manager assigned to your project. High levels of communication at every step, I could text Marc questions whenever I had them (many times). Great flexibility, for example I added a curve ball late in the design by adding a RMA adapter to maintain my baseline amperage. Stellar was happy to make the minor design changes. The installation team was also great. They used proper safety gear while on my roof, replaced broken tiles (which just happens when people walk on your roof), and Stellar gives a 10 year warranty on the installation against roof leaks. Solar installation is a competitive business, and Stellar acts like it. They earned my business, and an easy five star recommendation. Give Stellar a chance to earn your business if you are considering installing solar.

    Yelp Jonathan G., 3/30/2018

  • Highly recommend Stellar Solar. Very professional, excellent say-do ratio, and hassle free solar installation. Connor Smith did an excellent job in the pre-sales consultation process. Worked with me through my prior utility bills to understand my electrical demands, provided advice on what my new electric car would require for charging, and gave me several different system size proposals for me to consider. The process to get a Solar Mosaic loan was then very seamless - great rate and all done electronically. Now Jeff Warren stepped in as the installation coordinator. Did a fantastic job keeping me in the loop thru each step. Stellar Solar then obtained the city permit, and did the installation. First the roof guys came in, then the solar panel installers, then the roof guys came back to replace the tiles around the edge. Install ~ 5 days total. A few days later the city did the inspection, and then permission-to-operate from SDG&E came a day or two after that. Overall, expect a 2 month+ process. I first met Connor second week of January, and we received the PTO March 16th, then had the monitor commissioned a few weeks later. And then following PTO, Connor continued to advise me on the recommended TOU rates and best one to change to. Great job Stellar Solar!

    Yelp David L., 4/10/2018

  • Stellar Solar SunPower panels are cheaper than paying the monthly SDG&E bill. That should be reason enough to use them. It gets better. I knew the above fact and contacted Marc Cirelli, who became my consultant from that day and will always remain so, he is just a call or text away. The next day, he had his team conduct an inspection to provide options for my system and was able to provide me with quotes that same night. I realized immediately that Stellar Solar could install enough panels for me to be net positive, never having to pay an electric bill again--and all for about $150-200 less per month (on average, with summer bills that tend to balloon) than I'd pay SDG&E. Now, they are paying me, as they buy the electricity back. The installation was done in one day, including two 240 volt outlets in our garage for our electric cars. When done, they sent a great Technician out to commission our system, which enabled power generation information that is visible via the SunPower Monitor app. Loving it. Thanks, Marc!

    Yelp Rob K., 3/30/2018

  • Had a great experience with Stellar Solar. They delivered what was promised. Marc Cirelli was great to work with. They were able to put in a system that currently covers more than 100% of my needs and you cant even see the panels from front of house. It was great to go from a 600$ electric bill to 0$. Highly recommend.

    Yelp Lisa G., 3/30/2018

  • I worked with Marc Cerelli and Stellar Solar for my home in La Playa (Point Loma). It was a large project and they were fantastic. The panel configuration was well designed (aesthetic) and quality of work (final product) was exception and on time. They also handled several homes on my executive team with the same outcome. I highly recommend Stellar Solar.

    Yelp Chad R., 4/1/2018

  • I had a great experience with Keith D our salesperson. He is knowledgeable, low key and stayed involved throughout our project which included an electrical service upgrade with new main panel as well as the solar system itself. The layout is very aesthetic and the the roofer, the electrician and the panel installers were highly skilled and did a bang up job. We're producing 40 to 50 kWh per day and its not even summer yet!

    Yelp Chuck G., 4/26/2018

  • I bought SunPower panels from Stellar Solar about a year ago, and have been very happy with what they delivered. I put in a large system that puts out more than 100% of my use, and output has been about 10% more than expected. There were actually some issues that came up during installation, a couple cosmetic mistakes that were made, and without hesitation they came out and did a re-installation that took them at least as long as the first installation. The end result was that the system ended up looking exceptionally good. Problems sometimes occur when you're in this type of business, and I was impressed that they quickly responded and made everything right, with zero push back.

    Yelp T M., 2/25/2018

  • We contacted Stellar Solar based on a very high recommendation from a co-worker. I already had one bid from the company that installed our HVAC unit two years ago but I wanted another bid for comparison. After calling Stellar Solar they set us up with an appointment to meet with Marc Cirelli. Marc did an excellent job! He took as much time as I needed, answered all of my questions, and walked me through how the entire process would work. I was very impressed with their business model in terms of when each step of the process would be completed and when I would be asked to make a payment on the work completed at that point. I had no doubt after meeting with Marc that I wanted Stellar Solar to install our solar panels. I had additional questions before the installation started, during the installation and afterward but Marc was always available by email and text message. He answered my questions to my satisfaction and in a very timely manner. The installation of the panels went in very quickly, taking just 2 1/2 days. The installers were very professional being careful not to damage my roof. I am very happy with how the installation went. After passing inspection we met with the technical representative from Stellar. He was very thorough. He helped me understand the numeric display on my SDGE meter. He also took his time showing me how to monitor the system from my phone so I could see how it is performing. Now, how happy are we with our solar panel system? All I can say is it is awesome. For example, last year during the month of March we used 515 Kwh. This March we completely powered our house and put 415 Kwh back into the grid. Since January 2018, we have completely powered our house in addition to putting 694 total Kwh back into the grid as of April 3, 2018. Those extra hours may be needed in the summer when the air conditioning is running more, or they will be hours that SDGE has to buy from us when our true-up period comes around. I can say without any reservations whatsoever that I highly recommend Stellar Solar for your solar panel needs. You will not be disappointed.

    Yelp Mustang S., 4/3/2018

  • So far everything has worked well. I received a very fair price for quality panels and used the quickmount pv system. I compared the quotes to other competitors and they were the lowest for top quality Sunpower panels. Marc Cirelli is a good salesman, not pushy or in your face like another one I tried to work with. I just got the PTO and have had production now for a couple of days. Will upadte the review once i have been using for a while.

    Jeremiah R., 5/13/2017